ILovePRHow does one end up with two different classes yet the same class?  Sign up for Advertising PR/Campaigns and Cases and Principles of Public Relations like I did for the spring semester, that’s how.

I’ve attended my first week of classes and am a bit silenced, if that’s even possible.  Both classes will be the same exercise.  One of my co-workers says I should drop one but that’s not really a good idea since they complete my minor requirements for my area of specialization.  In other words, I have to take them anyway.

Here’s the set-up.  In the Principles in PR we divide up in 6 generalized groups and set-up a 5K run event fundraiser for a local church, Miracle Temple Church of God in Christ.  They are going to put us all in our “skillset” group that ranges from registration to entertainment.  My skillset is advertising and our group is going to be in charge of creating the logo and the other advertising materials.  As part of my grade I need to sign up 10 people to run the event.  Do I see a show of hands?

shoesI was going to ask what happens if we don’t get 10 people? Are you seriously going to give me a B rather than A? Or worse a C?  I mean, do I look like I hang around people who run in 5Ks?  For real! I only own 1 pair of tennis shoes and they are not running shoes!  Maybe we can have a high heel walking event?

But anyway, I chickened out and didn’t ask because in essence that would be setting up for failure without even trying.  We can’t let the negativity grab a hold of me just yet!!!

In my Ad/PR class, we’ve been broken into 3 groups and each group is going to create a marketing campaign for a non-profit.  We have been assigned Habitat for Humanity. Within the groups are supposed to be a variety of skillsets, I’m not really sure what my role is going to be but I will find out soon.

Both of these classes are a part of the ASU Connect! program.  The program is intended to teach students to connect through community service—In essence teaching us to “give back” to our communities.

So let’s just say that I should have a “feel good” feeling all semester long, because it is said that “we get our greatest joy in giving rather than receiving”…..so if I contact you about “giving” to a 5K run, you best put your smile on and say, “Of course! Here’s $20.”